Awards of Excellence

2019 Corobrik-ILASA Awards of Excellence    *33rd anniversary

Awards Theme:  Water Sensitive Design

Gala Dinner:      Cape Town:  25 September 2019: The Lord Charles Hotel, Somerset West


Landscape Architecture is more than a profession; it is a basic component of human culture. The ILASA Merit Awards of Excellence aims to exemplify best practice examples that are clear in their intent and relevant to their specific context. We are faced with particular social challenges in a country with extraordinary biodiversity, rich in resources but in need of conserving what we have. Projects should clearly demonstrate how they add value to the landscape, specifically in aspects of social or ecological health and well-being, but preferably encompassing both these aspects. 


2017 Awards of Excellence Winners

Life Time Award – Patrick Watson
President’s Award – Marula Game Lodge
Vergelegen Rose Garden
The Towers Merriman Square
Sasol Head Office
King’s Beach
House Erasmus
Waterfall City Park
The Skycatcher Northgate Island
Quays North, Quayside
New Lecture Theatre UCT
Mandela Children’s Hospital
Westbury Pedestrian Park
M vd Merwe Research Project

Past Awards of Excellence

2017 Corobrik-ILASA Awards of Excellence

ILASA AWARDS The Corobrik-ILASA Awards of Excellence was held on the 15th September 2017 during a Gala Dinner at the Johannesburg Country Club-Auckland Park. The event was a great success, it was officially sold out with close to 140 people in attendance. The merit...


2015 Winners: Reading the Landscape - Bernard Oberholzer Presidents Award, Merit Award of Excellence Main Road Rehabilitation Phase 1 &2 SPUD, City Parks - Cape Town, Ancunel Steyn Merit Award of Excellence Manenberg HSCC SPUD, City Parks - Cape Town, Ancunel Steyn...

2013 Corobrik-ILASA Awards of Excellence

If you were unable to attend the biennial Corobrik-ILASA Awards of Excellence at the Rand Club in Johannesburg. Please click here to view our photo gallery of the awards or read on for a quick summary of what you missed: Icon of Landscape Architecture: Johan van...


2011 COROBRIK-ILASA AWARDS OF EXCELLENCE An icon of the landscape architectural profession, along with 34 outstanding projects were celebrated at the 2011 Corobrik-ILASA Awards of Excellence ceremony held on 21 May 2011. 2011 Icon of Landscape Architecture Celebrated...

2009 Awards of Excellence

The awards were presented by the National Executive Committee of the Institute at a prestigious function held on 5 September 2009.  SUBMISSION CATEGORIES CATEGORY 1: PUBLICATIONS, MEDIA AND RESEARCH CATEGORY 2: DESIGN – COMPLETED PROJECTS CATEGORY 3: ENVIRONMENTAL...